My First Build!

mruiz

Honorable
May 13, 2012
I got a lot of useful advice on here and other forums so I wanted to put up the -almost- final result. I say almost because I'm still waiting on the video card and heatsink to come in so for now I'm using the motherboard's onboard video and the stock CPU cooler.

Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengence (4x4)
Power Supply: Corsair TX850M (850 Watt)
SSD: Crucial M4 128GB
Additional Hard Drive: WD Black Cav 1TB SATA 6.0
Optical Drive: LG 22x SATA DVD Burner

Things I'm still waiting on...

Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 2GB
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14

This is my first build and besides a minor hiccup with the driver updates everything's up and running, here's some pics. Will update when the rest of the components come in.

BTW I have to say that the case (Corsair Obsidian 650D is awesome. 1 big 200mm intake fan in the front, another exaust on top and a smaller exaust in the upper back of the case. Built in fan control settings but even on full blast it's very tolerable and I have the feeling the little noise there is is mainly coming from the stock CPU cooler. Another huge plus, cable management is a breeze with this case!

Now my next headache is regarding the monitor. The purpose of the build is for gaming but I've just been using my TV to get everything setup. I'm waiting until the video card comes in to figure out which monitor I'll be getting. With all the discussion of 60hertz vs 120hertz and 1080p vs 1200 and then some people saying over a 24 inch is not worth it while others swear by 27+ inches, I'm not sure which way to go.

photo-5.jpg

photo-4.jpg

I tied down a couple of cables here but mainly went for the sweep under the carpet approach.

photo-3.jpg

What mess?

photo-2.jpg

AbdullahG

Distinguished

Yes, but RAM nowadays is so cheap (and is getting cheaper), it wouldn't hurt getting 16GB.