Drowning in CPU choices

VIO

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2005
Hey first post...Sorry to be 'that guy' but I need help choosing a CPU/motherboard for a new desktop i'm building. Honestly I have no experience with buying CPU's or boards, I've never really had the money to spend to upgrade them on older systems. I've always just had the cash to upgrade video/sound cards and RAM in in systems I would aquire here and there. But now I got some money and I'm building a one from scratch. Problem is I've lost track of the current CPU market and am having trouble navigate through.

I need some advice on which CPU/board to pick up for the best gaming rig I can afford, price range for this stuff is about 400-500 give or take. i'm looking for the best bang for my buck while still not settling. Gonna finally build that rig to play 'Oblivion' with all the bells and whistles.

Thanks in advance for the help guys. Go easy on me I'm new!

BaronMatrix

Splendid
Dec 14, 2005
Hey first post...Sorry to be 'that guy' but I need help choosing a CPU/motherboard for a new desktop i'm building. Honestly I have no experience with buying CPU's or boards, I've never really had the money to spend to upgrade them on older systems. I've always just had the cash to upgrade video/sound cards and RAM in in systems I would aquire here and there. But now I got some money and I'm building a one from scratch. Problem is I've lost track of the current CPU market and am having trouble navigate through.

I need some advice on which CPU/board to pick up for the best gaming rig I can afford, price range for this stuff is about 400-500 give or take. i'm looking for the best bang for my buck while still not settling. Gonna finally build that rig to play 'Oblivion' with all the bells and whistles.

Thanks in advance for the help guys. Go easy on me I'm new!

First if you ant to paly the latest games you will need to spend at least $300 on the video card.