Slow, jittery - help!

awould

Honorable
Aug 31, 2012
Not sure where to post this. I am a computer novice. I can poke around a PC enough to fix small problems and get myself into trouble. Lately, my PC has been very very slow. As I type this, the letters are appearing much slower than I am typing. My mouse lags on the screen enough to where I end up clicking on the wrong link or inserting my cursor into the wrong line. Here is my basis set up.

Windows 7 Professional, 32-bit, Service Pack 1
Pentium Dual Core E5300 2.6GHz
4 GB RAM
Acer G235H and Acer G215HV (Kensington Multi-Display Adaptor)
Standard Intel graphics driver?

Key Software
Office 2010
Avast anti-virus
Malwarebytes anti-malware
Chrome

I think having Avast and the Malwarebytes programs running side by side probably doesn't help but the problem existed before I installed the Malwarebytes so I know that isn't the cause.

Also, my PC used to be hooked up to an office network and now it is at home. I'm sure there is still some settings that aren't necessary anymore and maybe they're the problem?

What I am wondering is if the CPU/RAM isn't up to snuff to handle the Windows 7/Office 2010 software. Or possibly my monitors and my graphics driver don't go together.

At any rate, it's frustrating and I am hoping you can help me solve it!

Thank you.

awould

Honorable
Aug 31, 2012
I was able to uninstall it using an application from Avast that required me to go into Safe Mode and basically delete the entire Avast folder. It appears to be gone now. I will install the Windows stuff and see how it goes. Since I just restarted, the problem is mitigated somewhat, I assume because the RAM is cleared or something. Usually takes a bit of time (not very much) for it to get bad again.... I will return with a report. I appreciate your time!

awould

Honorable
Aug 31, 2012