Sign in with
Your question

$700 Budget Rig

Last response: in Systems
May 14, 2012 7:33:08 AM

Hello TH Community! Well, as the Thread Title says, I have around $700 to spend on my second build PC. I was wondering how I would know what to get that would be in a sense "even". Meaning, how would I know what part of my pc is bottlenecking the other, I've seen a lot of people posting that you should get an i3 and a 7850, because they are around even, and it would tkae an amazing GPU to bottleneck processors like 2600k's. At this point I'm pretty damned confused, but his is what I'm looking at so far, PLEASE point me in the right direction as I'm not a computer expert.
Approximate Purchase Date: (e.g.: August-ish)

Budget Range: ~$700

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Entertainment (movies)

Parts Not Required: Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers, Optical Drive, Hard Drives

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I built my first computer off of Newegg.com and haven't had any troubles. :) 

Parts Preferences: N/A

Overclocking: Yes, Later once my budget allows me to buy liquid cooling.

SLI or Crossfire: Most likely not.

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050 (I will be buying a new 1080p Monitor, though.)

Additional Comments: here's what I'm looking at right now.

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) (219.99)
GPU: XFX Double D HD-687A-ZDFC Radeon HD 6870 (189.99) With a 30.00 MiR
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular Power Supply ($69.99)
Case: ZALMAN Z9 Plus Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case (Will this be enough space being a Mid-Atx?) ($59.99)
RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 ($49.99)
MOBO: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard ($121.99)