Sign in with
Your question

AMD pile driver or Ivy bridge?

Last response: in Systems
May 14, 2012 4:14:24 PM

Hello I am looking to build my first PC, after spending to long looking at the comparisons I still feel like getting a AMD FX-Series FX-8120 would be better then the i5-2500K reason being while I am a gamer I'm also a editor and no matter how many times I see people say the 2500k is faster I still can't buy that 8 cores would be worse then 4 for gaming I'm sure its faster but editing surely not?

So my question do you think this trend will continue with the release of Ivy bridge and pile driver, is it worth waiting for them or shall I just pick up a FX-8120?
May 14, 2012 4:32:08 PM

worldofjonny2 said:
Hello I am looking to build my first PC, after spending to long looking at the comparisons I still feel like getting a AMD FX-Series FX-8120 would be better then the i5-2500K reason being while I am a gamer I'm also a editor and no matter how many times I see people say the 2500k is faster I still can't buy that 8 cores would be worse then 4 for gaming I'm sure its faster but editing surely not?

So my question do you think this trend will continue with the release of Ivy bridge and pile driver, is it worth waiting for them or shall I just pick up a FX-8120?

Four good cores > Eight crappy cores.

http://www.google.com/#hl=en&output=search&sclient=psy-... <----- Reviews w/benchmarks for the AMD FX-8120 Zambezi. So whether you buy it or not, the reviews and benchmarks show that the Sandy Bridge and now Ivy Bridge pretty much mop that floor with the 8120 and do it more efficiently.

As far as Pile Driver goes...who knows until we see the benchmarks? If it's anything like AMD's last release I wouldn't hold my breath.
May 14, 2012 4:37:40 PM

Even for editing? Any idea on a release date?
Related resources
May 14, 2012 4:39:15 PM