Radeon HD 7970 2x or Nvidia Kepler

Kaolt

Honorable
Mar 11, 2012
Hello I am building a gaming PC for FPS,RPG,Racing,MMO..... well about everything and i was wondering should i go with 2 Radeon HD 7970's Crossfire for Eyefinity (3x1 Landscape) or 1-2 Nvidia Kepler's SLI for Nvidia Surround (3x1 Landscape) i am quite new with hardware (so i have no clue what i am doing) generally i'm looking for something with performance and very little troubleshooting that will last for a long while. This is my build so far feel free to critique it but please keep it friendly http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1E155D

sykozis

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2008
There are currently no Kepler cards available and there have been no official announcements from nVidia as to when they'll become available. So, unless you plan on waiting until nVidia officially launches their Kepler cards, your best bet for "current gen" graphics cards is the HD7970.

What are the specs of the system your going to be using with this?(CPU,RAM,etc.)

Honestly it's to soon to tell.I think your best bet is to just wait until we get some benchmarks.I'm assuming though if your going for a $1000 GPU setup that the sky's the limit?

Have you given 3D any thought?

Kaolt

Honorable
Mar 11, 2012

I would assume that the spec would be in the linked build

"I'm assuming though if your going for a $1000 GPU setup that the sky's the limit?" Pretty much

3D... not really have you had any experiences with it ?

Oh I'm sorry.I didn't see the link.Yah that's gonna be a beast of a machine.

I haven't myself but it seems like something for someone who's shooting for the stars might want to have(I would).Or at least try it out.I've heard that Nvidia's next gen 3D vision was much improved but that was on the GTX500 series I believe.

vilenjan

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010