Sign in with
Your question

First time building a PC (gaming)

Last response: in Systems
May 14, 2012 7:08:44 PM

Hey all, this is my first time building a PC and I would like some feedback regarding the parts I have chosen carefully. It will be a gaming PC and the resolution will be 1920x1080. I’m just worried if the parts I’ve chosen aren’t compatible with each other or something; for example, is the motherboard good enough? I know the psu is good enough but will it support overclocking and stuff like that, and will the cpu cooler support overclocking the 2600k? I still have a lot to learn regarding overclocking but since I don’t intend on overclocking any time soon it’s not too big a deal, it's just something that I will be interested in in the future. And is 16gb of ram too much? I originally went with 8gb but I have a budget of $1500 so I was able to raise it to 16gb no problem for future-proofing and dual monitoring purposes. I also intend on dual monitoring sometime, for instance playing Diablo 3 and skyping on the other monitor (much to my gf’s chagrin). I want my PC to be fairly future-proofed so I chose an i7 so I wouldn’t have to worry about it for a long time (I plan on buying an i7 over an i5 no matter what; I know I’ll hear some i5’s > i7’s for gaming due to price but I have the money) and that’s also why I opted with 16gb of RAM (although I may downgrade to 8gb if somebody suggests it seeing as how I could probably just buy 16gb of RAM in the future when it’s cheaper if 8gb is all I need for gaming and ***). The hard drive is something I already have so it’s technically not included in my budget, I’m just wondering if it’s a good enough hard drive as it is kind of old compared to the other parts I chose, but it still has 7200rpm and 250gb is all I need as I tend to delete things I don’t use, and I also intend to buy an SSD soon after I build my PC. It’s a WD2500JD. Also, I have some old optical drives that I plan on using if that’s a normal thing to d