My first build, need advice/input

boixwunder

Honorable
May 14, 2012
I have decided to undertake the task of building my own rig. I have done some research and after determining that the best way to get what i want out of a PC is to build it myself. I will mainly be gaming on this computer since i have a laptop for music and other random stuff. I mainly want advice and feedback on the products i have selected. Compatibility is my number one concern, i have cross referenced the specs on the parts i have chosen, but seeing that this is my first build i am not too sure with my lack of knowledge. Any advice, pointers, concerns, and suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Also, what about chip manufacturer brand names?

I am trying to keep this build under $1000 while still future proofing it somewhat. I will be building this by the end of 2012. I am just doing my homework right now. I will be playing all kinds of games on this rig. Im currently looking at Diablo 3, Tera Online, and BF3, to name a few. Running these on MAX settings would be ideal, as long as it looks good and has a high frame rate.

I want to use an Intel MOBO and CPU, no real reason other than the fact that i have always had Intel chips in all my computers.

I would like to overclock in the future.

I am not really worried about SLI or CrossFire as of right now, but the future is always bright.

I am a student so i will get my OS for dirt cheap, yay!

I am open to suggestions for some good gaming mouse and keyboard for under $80. I am not really putting these items into my budget as i can start off with a keyboard and mouse combo that is cheap just to get the system up and running.

I am open to suggestions for monitors and i am somewhat ignorant to display numbers (the higher display ratio the better or does frame rate suffer?), but something good for gaming would be nice. I also want to plug into my 42" Panasonic Plasma TV to enhance the gaming experience.