Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Power supply for Dell Inspiron 531?

Last response: in Components
September 1, 2012 5:56:49 PM

Hi,

I have a Dell Inspiron 531 desktop. I just noticed it today that the fan from the power supply is not working. The computer works fine so far, it turns on. Never had a problem since I purchased it years ago, until now. And just as I needed to replace the PSU on my PC, because it keeps rebooting. :fou: 

Can anyone please point me to a power supply that will work with this computer from newegg.com? I'm on a budget so it can't be something expensive.

Below is a pic of the specs for the PC. Any help would be greatly appreciated. A total newbie here. :( 

Edited to add: This was posted at Dell's forum for a person who wanted to replace the power supply.

Most generic standard ATX power supply units can be installed, with either a 24-pin or 20+4-pin main motherboard power connector, with or without the on/off switch.

You should be able to buy a compatible power supply from either a local or online computer store.

Note: You require a power supply with four SATA power connectors.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Best solution

a c 243 ) Power supply
September 1, 2012 10:20:28 PM

Cheapest I'd reccomend, without a rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

You can get the Corsair 500 for $25 after $10 promo and $25 rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
September 2, 2012 8:55:47 PM

Best answer selected by midnitemoon.
m
l
Related resources
September 2, 2012 8:58:09 PM

Thank you so much for the response!! I'm buying the first one you listed after I post this. I'll give an update once I install it. Again, thanks! :D 
m
l
September 13, 2012 3:48:33 AM