Sign in with
Your question

Strange CPU Fan Failure

Last response: in Systems
May 15, 2012 1:44:11 AM

So this is my first build ever, just finished it this weekend, and I'm off to a very rough start. Here's my parts list.

Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
CPU: Ivy Bridge i5-3570K
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 2 x 2GB (1333 MHz)
Boot Drive: Crucial M4 128GB
Storage Drive: Western Digital Black 2TB
PSU: 80+ Gold LEPA 500W
Optical Drive: Not sure... something I pulled out of an old box.

I used the stock fan that came with the CPU, and it worked fine for a day. Then yesterday I got a fan error while booting up. I looked inside the case and indeed the fan seemed to be stuttering. It would try and spin up, slow, stop. Then try and spin up again, repeating the whole process. I did a reboot, and the problem went away. Then today I booted it up again and the problem came back, but it's not going away, no matter how many times I reboot.

I checked that the fan is in the right header, and it is. I looked and I can see 3 headers there. CPU_FAN, CPU_OPT, and CHA_FAN3. Just to be sure it's really the fan that's at fault I tried to boot up with the thing plugged into one of these other headers. Nothing changed with CPU_OPT, but when I tried the third one the fan started spinning normally. The computer won't accept it though, it still says there is a fan error and goes right into UEFI.

Another thing that puzzles me is that I'm using an Asus board, which comes with Q-LED indicators (those little lights all over the mobo which light up during the boot up). They are supposed to help you solve a boot up problem by staying red at whatever place the problem occurs. Except that when I run into the fan problem, the light stays on at the boot drive... But in UEFI it says my M4 is fine.