Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Processor fan not spinning? & uknown plug

Tags:
  • Prebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
May 15, 2012 3:20:05 AM

I'm pretty new at taking things apart. I bought a new gateway i5 and just got a new GPU (6870 comes tomorrow) and PSU (installed it today). As I was unplugging the PSU plugs I forgot which plug this small white plug is.... my dvd drive isn't working after I plugged everything in... everything else is working great. As far as the DVD drive the light pops up when I press the button to eject but nothing else....

To make matters worse, that huge fan on my processor isn't working. I had to remove it to put the psu in a mini tower case.. it was just too big. I had the case open for a second to see if I could see it spinning and it wasn't when I turned on the computer. I checked the 2 plugs for the 2 fans, they both are in. I also installed a cpu temp reader... was like 38c under like 60 percent load... so idk if that's good or bad.

Any advice on these two problems would great. Thanks.

pic for you

http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg209/scaled.php?server=...

small white one. Has two metal pins. Connects to something red I believe... red & white? idk.

More about : processor fan spinning uknown plug

May 15, 2012 3:33:04 AM

Where does the other end of that wire lead to? Does it come out of the power supply?
m
l
May 15, 2012 3:34:01 AM

yeah. YEAH it was in my old power supply. Forgot to mention that. I don't have that plug on my new power supply. I looked.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
May 15, 2012 4:13:28 AM

link to your system on gateway
m
l
May 15, 2012 5:34:43 AM

the system you linked do not have a pci-e slot in the specs it only have a onboard graphic card,wil need more info on the parts of this system and you could had picture of the inside your cpu fan should spin if connected correctly and good
m
l
May 15, 2012 6:38:13 AM

look like it clogged with dust
m
l
May 15, 2012 7:48:19 AM