CPU cooler going full while doing simple tasks

Justhavocman

Honorable
Sep 2, 2012
Hello there , im running an i7-2600 3.4GHz , i got a Coolermaster V8 cpu cooler which for some reason makes an immense ammount of noise when doing simple tasks , such as opening some programes , playing games that require low graphics and so on ! Thing is , this has been going on for only the past week , didnt happen when i first bought the Cooler , i have considered replacing the stock fan just in case , any other explenations?

What has changed?

Some possible reasons:

1) The fan is spinning up because the cpu cooler is not keeping the cpu cool enough.
Check your cpu temperatures. Possibly the cooler has come loose.

2) The bios has been set to run the cpu fan at maximum speed at all times.

3) You are using a 3 pin fan on the cooler which will run at full speed. A PWM 4 pin fan will be controlled by the motherboard.

jay_nar2012

Distinguished

A 3 pin can also be controlled but by voltage instead of frequency.

InvalidError

Titan
Since the way OP worded it makes it sound like the fan goes from normal to full speed when going from idle to low load, I would place my bet on HSF mounting problem.

Use CPUID HardwareInfo or other temperature monitoring software to take a look at what your idle/load temperatures are. If your idle temperatures are over 45C and almost instantaneously jump to over 75C under load, you definitely have a major HSF mounting issue.

Justhavocman

Honorable
Sep 2, 2012

Hmmm 1) Im getting 35-40 idle temps and 40-50 TOPS on full load , what do you mean by coming loose? i will need to re-mount it on the mobo?

2) i dont know how to configure my bios im afraid , although when idle it does not go full out on me , only when doing some tasks as opening programes\games

3) Well the cooler has a manual fan speed controll but when i open the programes it goes on auto-mode , thus spining up !

Justhavocman

Honorable
Sep 2, 2012