Msi r7950 cf and voltage question?

jijoslin

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2010
I've had my cf msi r7950's running now for a few days now and for the most part I'm very pleased. I'm using msi afterburner to oc to 951 core and 1352 memory. My benchmarks and games are stable. I noticed on the box it says gpu voltage control,do I need to adjust this for better performance? The rest of my pc is amd 965@ 3.91 16gb ddr3@1600 single 1tb hdd,asus crosshair 3 mobo, and seasonic 750 gold psu. Does increasing power consumption in ccc to +20% raise performance? Thanks for the help

Solution
I'm no expert in this by any means, but in my experience/readings, I believe you only raise the voltage (gpu, cpu, etc etc) if you're having problems with your overclock, which, for gpu would be seeing artifacts or gpu crashes. I myself own a sapphire r7950 at a similar OC and have not had to increase the gpu voltage. I believe the general rule of thumb is to leave voltage alone unless you know exactly what you're doing, and raise by the smallest amount you need, as raising voltage on any component can significantly increase heat and shorten its lifespan.

hope that helps
I'm no expert in this by any means, but in my experience/readings, I believe you only raise the voltage (gpu, cpu, etc etc) if you're having problems with your overclock, which, for gpu would be seeing artifacts or gpu crashes. I myself own a sapphire r7950 at a similar OC and have not had to increase the gpu voltage. I believe the general rule of thumb is to leave voltage alone unless you know exactly what you're doing, and raise by the smallest amount you need, as raising voltage on any component can significantly increase heat and shorten its lifespan.

hope that helps

Solution