Am i behind the times in thinking about CPU speeds?

jbourne84

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2008
I know chip architecture has come a long way and multi core is a big difference than the old pentium 4 but as i find myself looking at laptops, and specifically ultrabooks, I see a lot of options where the processor speed starts at sub 2ghz (1.7 ghz with boost to 2.6).

Theres a part of me that just thinks theres no way i can settle for a 1.8ghz chip, regardless what it turbo-boosts up to. Given I have been using at least 2ghz for about ten years.

I want a laptop for webdesign, so nothing too intense but it needs to run Adobe C.S.5 (possibly 6) smoothly, at least dream weaver, illustrator and photoshop. I am looking at a variety of ultrabooks, trying to figure out what makes sense for the money.
I was just looking at the lenovo idea pad u300 which i could potentially spend over $1,400 on and still have a 1.8ghz cpu, and yeah it will boost up to 2.3 or whatever but my quad core 3ghz desktop CPU idles around 2ghz. So will a 1.8ghz idle closer to 1ghz?

Or am i just completely off base being concerned with this, and the changes in architecture will make up for all of this?

Cazalan

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2011
I cringe at the thought of doing web design on an Ultrabook.
Ultrabooks are thin with small screens designed for battery life and portability.

For design you want something that can display the page code and fully rendered page at the same time. Multi-monitor displays, etc.

Yes, if you are simply thinking about clockspeed alone, then you are behind the times. Clockspeed is important, but it has taken a backseat to IPC (Instructions Per Cycle). The more IPC a CPU can execute per 1MHz, the faster it can potentially be.