560ti 2gb too much just right? Opinions and Alternatives

Ankh16

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2011
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP (but willing to wait to see if kepler drops prices)

BUDGET: approx $250 (after rebate is fine)

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming (no really specific games as I have a large variety I want to play including things from BF3 to SW:TOR to SC2)

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: This is my first build so I have no current GPU, power supply will be an OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: planning to go with:

CPU: i5-2500k

MOBO: Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 Intel Z68

RAM: Crucial Ballistix BLS2KIT4G3D1609DS1S0 Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2x 4GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, 240-pin DIMM, 1.5V, CL9, Non-ECC, Unbuffered

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: tigerdirect.ca, living in Canada

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe in future as necessary
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Most likely in future when necessary

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1366 x 768 (720p 26" LCD Insigna flatscreen tv)

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Basically I've definitely done some research but I'm still confused with some things and what would be best for me.

First off I should mention that while I do eventually hope to get a 1080p monitor or tv for gaming, that probably won't happen for at least a year, more likely 2.

So I've been looking mostly at the MSI GTX 560ti twin frozr ii 2 gb OC and I'd like some opinions on that given my set up. I want to be able to game at high graphics for hopefully the next 2 (maybe even 3 if I drop down to medium graphics) years before having to SLI or upgrade (max graphics for current games would be awesome but probably unrealistic).

Ok I'm just going to list some questions I have as well:

Better card I should be looking at?

Is the 2gb version too much Vram? I know some games like BF3 on ultra can consume 1.5gb and I thought it'd be future proofing if I got the 2gb version for SLI down the road or just as more Vram instensive games come out.