PSU Size required?

JohnGalt1

Honorable
Apr 24, 2012
Dear Users,

I'm in the process of parting out my first gaming build, and I ran into a little snag. On my first post for the build, I got some pretty solid feedback that the Corsair HX 850w PSU would be more than enough to run my computer. However, when I started playing around with throwing an extra GPU into SLI, I got a little doubtful about an 850w/70A PSU being enough.
This is my build:

Corsair 650D
Mushkin chronos 240 GB SSD
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Intel i7 3770k OC to 4.8GHz (I realize that this may not be possible on air, but I'll use this as an upper limit for the draw on the PSU)
Coolermaster 7PC812 fan
Asus P8Z77 Pro/Thunderbolt motherboard
Corsair Vengeance 2x8GB ram (May upgrade to 4x8GB if needed eventually... highly doubt it though)
Evga GTX 670

Not sure if the following will make much difference to a PSU or not,
1x Blueray drive
1x DVD burner
1x DasKeyboard pro S
1x Razer Black Mamba
1x Raid card (Possibly)
1x Sound card (Possibly)

I'm sure that an 850w is more than enough to run the above, but when I put an extra GTX 670 into SLI, and maybe even OC them, will it still be enough? The Thermaltake PSU calculator says to keep an extra 25-30% wattage due to capacitor aging if you plan on keeping the PSU for more than a year. Any thoughts on this as well?

Thanks a lot,

John

850w from a good brand like XFX or Seasonic is good enough.

2x 8GBs Corsair is also not a route I would go. Not sure what you intend to do with this computer but it can probably be done with 2x 4GBs of 1333/1600 if there are 2x GTX 670s in it. Crucial and Kingston are more reliable brands as well.

850w is more than enough for SLI with your specs ( will make all the guys who believe you need twice as much wattage as you will use happy )
With a high quality power supply in a well cooled modern system capacitor aging is something you might have to think about after the 7 year warranty runs out

JohnGalt1

Honorable
Apr 24, 2012