Sign in with
Your question

A Problem With My Build Which I Made 2 days ago

Last response: in Systems
May 16, 2012 6:40:36 PM

Hi,
I Build A System 2 days ago and everything was running fine, But the problem is that i can hear a electric buzz every 50-60 seconds, it is not very loud and you can barely hear it, and today twice it shut down on its own but i dont know if it was shut down or not because my fan lights and the fan was on but my monitor went as if nothing was connected. What Could be the problem? i am very tensed as this is my first build :( 

My Specs Are,
i7 2600k, Stock Cooler
Sapphire Radeon HD 6950
Gigabyte Superb 720W
16GB Kingston Ram
Z77x - D3H
HAF 912 Advanced
500GB HDD

More about : problem build made days ago

May 16, 2012 7:51:08 PM

My Core temps are -
Core 0 - Min -43 , Max -51
Core 1 - Min -42 , Max -49
Core 2 - Min -41 , Max -50
Core 3 - Min -46 , Max -55

And This Is When I Am Just Browsing and downloading things off the net,
Please help me guys :( 
m
l
May 16, 2012 7:57:42 PM

It is your power supply return that one, get a good brand, Corsair, Antec, Seasonic, XFX (which is made by Seasonic). Gigabyte power supplies are no name brands.

Also Your temps are fine, If you want them a bit cooler I would suggest getting a aftermarket CPU cooler like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... that should lower your temps nicely, get some good thermal compound too Artic silver 5 is good
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
May 16, 2012 7:58:40 PM

Well the core temps seem a bit high, but not sure that is your issue. I suspect that your PSU might be involved with your issues.

* Do you have another PSU to check to see if it a possible issue?

It looks like your PSU is only has a warranty of 1 year, which tells me that the makeup of the PSU is probably on the cheaper side of things (most quality PSU's have a warranty of 3-5 years). I'm not saying your PSU is the problem, but it would be something I'd check first.
m
l