Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Thoughts on this budget gaming build?

Last response: in Systems
May 16, 2012 7:24:40 PM

I'm fairly new to this whole computer building thing, but I realize its definitely the way to go. I want to build a decent gaming machine so I did some research and picked out this build and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could look over each part for me to confirm that everything is compatible and that I'm really getting the most bang for my buck.

Budget range: up to 800 dollars, minus 100 for an OS

Approximate Purchase date: Not entirely sure yet. Still want to do more research and practice taking apart and putting together an old desktop first.

System usage: Gaming

Parts not required: monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers

Preferred website: newegg, although I may use tigerdirect or nci or amazon, depending on where I can get them cheapest.

Overclocking: Maybe but probably not, as I don't know how and I'm not a hardcore gamer anyways.

Sli or Crossfire: Maybe in the distant future, but not anytime soon.

Monitor resolution: 1920 x 1080

Additional comments: As I said, I need an OS, so that uses up 100 of my 800 dollars.

Here's the link to my build:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/8lnO
a b 4 Gaming
May 16, 2012 7:38:38 PM

I think you should tell us what you are using it for so we can give an informed opinion .

It really does help if you use the format suggested in the thread about how to ask for advice at the top of the forum
May 16, 2012 7:51:38 PM

Outlander_04 said:
I think you should tell us what you are using it for so we can give an informed opinion .

It really does help if you use the format suggested in the thread about how to ask for advice at the top of the forum

Okay, sorry about that. Its fixed now :) 
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
May 16, 2012 8:01:58 PM

It is a decent build . But it is a little focused on processor power rather than graphics card which is going to determine image quality and frame rates in games .