thecheese96

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2012
Hey guys, i have never overclocked before, in fact this is my first build. I was told that since it isnt a k series it is locked but i fiddled around in the bios a little bit and i found i can oc but i dont know how.
cpu ratio-all core
blck-was at 100.0
and cpu multiplier or something- it was at 33 which im guessing is the multiplier,
i have the stock fan/hs but i have an ac in my room and 3 case fans, so i can handle the heat
my question is: what can i oc it to safely with no harm to the components but still milk some extra performance out of it.
i have an asrock z75 pro3.

i tried setting the following but it crashed the OS and wouldnt start so i reset it to the default
blck 106.0mhz and multiplier to 37

any help is appreciated. i have prime 95 and under the full test load i only reached 60celcius, and since im gaming i realistically wont reach that. even skyrim only got to 50c

Solution
it is "limited unlocked" (google this for info) So multiplier can be increased by 4 bins. Most people think this is enough.

Then just like old school overclocking you can then only increase bclk and fiddle with timings voltages or buy expensive ram.

Most people recommend just leave the clock at 100, set your ram to xmp profile, and get your +4bins and set your ram at it's XMP profile and enjoy the 400mhz increase and it is enough for most people to be happy with +400mhz.

After that, you are risking instability for what? 1%-3% increases?
If you Really wanted the extra overclock more than that, shouldve spent the extra money and get a k processor.

raytseng

Honorable
May 15, 2012
it is "limited unlocked" (google this for info) So multiplier can be increased by 4 bins. Most people think this is enough.

Then just like old school overclocking you can then only increase bclk and fiddle with timings voltages or buy expensive ram.