First time building alone! Looking for an all round build, spec within

jeemerimah

Distinguished
May 18, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next week

Budget Range: Up to around £700 all in, but less is always nice.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (mainly fps) Video Editing (1080p) web/illustration work + some music production

Parts Not Required: I don't require a mouse/keyboard/monitor/optical drive/OS (plan to use windows 7 via a bootable USB - if this is likely to cause issues on a new build please let me know!)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Scan.co.uk or cclonline.com have been recommended, however I'm open to suggestions.

Parts Preferences: I've been recommended to go with Intel particularly with video editing in mind, however if I can get as good/better performance from AMD at a noticeably better price i have no brand loyalty whatsoever.

Overclocking: I've never tried this before, but I'd be open to suggestions about what my eventual build can get away with and/or whether I'll need to look at implementing more cooling measures.

SLI or Crossfire: Wasn't planning on this unless it'll save money somehow, which I doubt! Wouldn't mind having the option to add in another graphics card later on if it's a possibility.

Monitor Resolution: I don't know off the top of my head! My old desktop has died. I have a ~2 year old 24" lcd if that helps...