May 18, 2012
EDIT: read latest posts !!!

--------------------

Hey there.

Okay, so I'm going to build a new PC. I'm a first-time builder. Have seen and read lots of tutorials around the internet, and I feel good building my computer myself.

I will be buying all my parts from Norwegian websites, (buying from other sites will be just as expensive with customs etc). The max price in US dollars will be around 1800$.

I'm just gonna show you the parts I have come up with so far, and what I want is your suggestions on what to improve. I will also list some specific questions on the bottom of this post, but as I just said, please tell me your own opinions too.

So here we go...

--------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: really ASAP, at least before July

Budget Range: max is around 1800$

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, surfing the internet, schoolwork

Parts Not Required: screen (will get a new one later), I will find a keyboard and mouse later, so don't think about that now.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Komplett.no, CDON.no

Parts Preferences: Intel

Overclocking: Yes, but no extreme overclocking

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, when I can afford another card.

Monitor Resolution: ATM i have 1366 x 768, but I will probably get 1920x1200 in the future.

Additional Comments: I don't care about the look of the parts (except the case). Doesn't have to be very quiet.

Games I am playing/will be playing: TF2, BF3, Skyrim, GTA IV, GTA V when it comes out. Want to run all the games on a minimum of HIGH, but preferably ULTRA/EXTREME. With at least 30+ FPS at all times.

--------------------

Parts:

MOTHERBOARD: ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe, LGA 1155 - 275$

CPU: Intel i7-3770K, LGA 1155 - 350$

GPU: EVGA GTX 670, 2GB, GDDR5, PCIe 3.0 - 400$

RAM: Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x4), DDR3, 1600MHz - 115$

HDD: Seagate Barracuda, 2TB, 7200RPM, SATA 6gb/s, 3.5" - 120$