Sign in with
Your question

URGENT

Last response: in Systems
May 18, 2012 8:29:33 PM

Thanks a lot guys! I'm a newb when it comes to this stuff!

Approximate Purchase Date: Tonight!

Budget Range: 600-700 before rebates / before tax

System Usage: (Least to Most Important) Gaming, Programming, Watching Movies, Word Processing, Browsing, etc.

Parts Not Required: Monitor, Mouse, Keyboard, Speakers. I have Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit already.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg

Parts Preferences: Doesn't really matter as long as it the part gets decent-good reviews.

Overclocking: No, but maybe. Not going to splurge for it.

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050 is my current LCD's max resolution. It's an Optiquest (bad I know but I'm on a budget!)

Additional Comments: Needs to be able to run Diablo 3/Counterstrike: Global Offensive with everything maxed out, at least 30 fps. Also should be able to handle BF3 at medium-high graphics with some stuff turned off.

What I have so far, (days of contemplation)

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

Would really like to lower the price. Could I substitute a cheaper motherboard? I don't need SLI ready or crossfire, I won't be playing any other games other than these for a while so upgrades aren't really necessary later.

More about : urgent

May 18, 2012 8:31:17 PM

And when I receive the parts, how hard will the put together be? Will I have to go out and buy different wires or is my build compatible completely?

Will I have to adjust any plugs or anything? Or just take everything, screw it down, plug it in, tie wires, turn on, install os and done?

Will I need to mess with BIOS at all even though I'm not OCing or anything like that?
m
l
May 18, 2012 8:39:55 PM

Spend the time that it takes to ship downloading all the component manuals and reading them.....then read them again .... then print them and go thru w/ a highlighter to make important parts stand out.