Sign in with
Your question

"No input signal" when i plug my new build into my monitor

Last response: in Systems
May 19, 2012 5:02:46 PM

So 4 days ago i started working on my first build just without the Hard Drive. I double checked if everything was together or not and it looked like it was ready to go. I knew that i just wanted to see the " insert Disc " or at least some thing and there was this constant "no input signal".

how do i solve this problem because I've read on forums that you should be able to have one even if you don't have a hard drive. I'm also concerned if i may have discharged some electricity into the motherboard, but it powered up, the cpu fan is spinning, and there's no beeping for an error.

i am new to this building stuff so please take it easy on me, Thanks in advance.
May 19, 2012 5:13:39 PM

Did you install the motherboard with the brass standoffs? I made this mistake and my new build said no signal after everything turned on (all fans etc).

Also, check the CPU socket for bent pins, if even 1 pin is bent, most likely it won't work at all. Also, the CPU itself, make sure it looks normal on the bottom where the pins are.
m
l
May 20, 2012 2:14:39 AM

i dont even know what brass strandoffs are and also i SLOWLY put everything together so i know for a fact i didnt bend any screws.
m
l
Related resources
May 20, 2012 2:16:38 AM

okay yeah yeah yeah i know what they are. but what do i use them for ?

m
l
May 20, 2012 3:03:58 AM

If you installed the motherboard properly, the brass standoffs are the things that connect it to the case. Most motherboards should only ever need 5-6 of them.

It's possible that the display is still running through the motherboard's video port. You have tried plugging the monitor into there?
m
l
May 20, 2012 3:26:07 AM