Black screen and screen tearing with Radeon 6870

Kementiri

Honorable
Mar 17, 2012
Ok so my boyfriend purchased a new graphics card (AMD Radeon HD 6870) for me so that I could play Skyrim with maxed settings. Or so I thought after 5 minutes of play I get screen tearing and black screen. Sometimes even a white screen and an error messge (Display driver AMD has stopped responding and has recovered). This card is WORSE than my old Nvida GTS 250...

My specs: Operating System: MS Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1
Graphics: SyncMaster (1920x1200@60Hz)
AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series (XFX Pine Group)
Ram: 4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 401MHz (5-5-5-18)
Hard Drive: 488GB Seagate ST3500320AS ATA Device (SATA)
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. GA-MA790FX-DS5 (Socket M2)
Processor: AMD Phenom Quad Core Processor 9550 Agena 65nm Technology 2.2 GHz
Power Supply: Antec 650W NeoHE650 50/60 Hrz

I'm not a computer expert and my other half is even WORSE so I am trying to figure this out on my own. Is the card being restricted due to the power supply? Or is it the Processor? I can run the game SORT OF on low settings but as soon as I try and up the settings I get the crashing. I ran an OCCT power supply test at 1920x1200 setting for 10 minutes and it stopped after 3.5 minutes with a display saying GPU core over maximum value! 86 was reached, Max value: 85. But no errors came up other than that message.

I can't afford a new computer hence me getting a new graphics card ( I was told from the sales person that my rig could run this but he also asked me if I had a 900 watt PSU???) I am pretty sure from looking online that a 650 Watt PSU could run this card. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

Solution
A 500w psu would be fine. You'll never see the full capability of that video card though because it's being held back by your slow cpu.