*First build: is this OVERKILL?

zenrunner92

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2011
Hi,

Total newbie at DIY computers here. Total non-gamer, zero video editing. My only priority is the ability to multi-task massively w/o slowing down, freezing up, or outright crashing.

I was wondering if the quality of the motherboard, memory, and chosen boot drive makes any noticeable difference. Because a DIY desktop only costs maybe $100 more than an OEM desktop or comparable laptop, and I tend to assume that the OEM machines usually use the cheapest available hardware in order to maximize profits.

The main thing I need is a system that will provide the utmost stability and speed for massive multitasking. And I'd like it to last for at least 3-5 years.

Typical multi-tasking usage looks like this:

3-5 Chrome windows open, each one with 10-15 tabs including guzzlers like YouTube, Facebook and Pandora
Word
Foxit PDF Reader
MS Security Essentials
JetAudio music player
Notepad
Calculator
Desktop widgets: clock, calendar, CPU monitor, Network monitor
2-4 folder windows open

What I've assembled so far, about $680 shipped (mostly from Newegg)...not ordered yet, just shopped::

Asus P8B75-M motherboard (HDMI, USB 3.0, SATA III)
i5-3450 Ivy Bridge CPU
Crucial M4 128GB SSD
8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 PCR12800
Antec Sonata III case & 500W power supply
Windows 7 HP 64bit SP1

Would such a system likely provide significantly more speed and stability than an i5 laptop with the equivalent CPU, same SSD and equivalent memory?

Is the system I'm proposing already overkill for my needs? Should I go cheaper, maybe with an AMD A6 or A8 CPU instead?

All comments and suggestions/alternatives welcome...thanks.

PS. I will be using a USB DVD reader/burner and a number of USB disk drives for most data/media storage.