Best choice for new CPU

sapphireman

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
Howdy folks, I'm looking at the possibility upgrading the CPU (and mobo if I switch to Intel). I recently upgraded my GPU to an HD 7950. I love it, but after some reading it seems that the game I play most of the time, DCS A-10C, relies more on the CPU than might a standard game. My current setup:
790XTA-UD4 Mobo
G.Skill 8GB @1600 RAM
HIS Iceq HD 7950
AMD 970 Black 3.5GHz
PCPC 750w psu

My first curiosity is if upgrading at this point will actually give me a notable boost (both in-game as well as out). Although I'm no expert here, I know that my system is fairly decent but that the CPU and especially the mobo are outdated. Could either be bottlenecking my GPU?

Ok, so, assuming I decide to upgrade where should I look? The research I've done didn't really give me a clear path. Is something like an FX-8120/50 going to give me some results or would I be better going with an Intel chip (and if so, what would be a good mobo combo)? A really broad question, I know, but any input would be greatly appreciated, so thank you in advance!

Solution
i5 k series (SB don't bother with IB) will give a nice boost when overclocked beyond 4ghz. The increase from the extra i/o alone will boost fps in games then take into account the faster fpu and higher ipc the i5/i7 is a clear win. Don't get cheap on the ram, SB and IB love fast ram.
i5 k series (SB don't bother with IB) will give a nice boost when overclocked beyond 4ghz. The increase from the extra i/o alone will boost fps in games then take into account the faster fpu and higher ipc the i5/i7 is a clear win. Don't get cheap on the ram, SB and IB love fast ram.

Solution

sapphireman

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011