Sign in with
Your question

AMD CPU OC Question

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
September 9, 2012 10:53:53 PM

Hi guys. I am new to this so sorry if I have done something silly.

I have an AMD Phenom II X6 1055t 2.8GHz running on an Asus M5A78L LE with 2x 2GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tracer RAM.

I have followed THIS guide on how to OC.

Within windows I see that I am at 3.71GHz using Core Temp & CPU-Z. When I try to use Cinebench, the temp goes up, obviously. When it hits 48 degrees C the CPU speed drops to 1.0GHz with the multiplier down to 4.0 from 14. Voltage @ 3.7 GHz is 1.452V and at 1.0GHz 1.320V. This is according to CPU-Z. I have not changed any voltages as the guide says there is no need.

When the temp goes down to 36 degrees, the speed shoots up again until 48 degrees is reached.

I have disabled quiet n cool & C1E support as the guide suggests. I have changed power options in control panel, I have tried while running game booster. I also downloaded something called K10Stat after a google search but don't really understand how to use it.

I have been sat here all night trying to figure it out and I am done :(  I would love it if someone could help.

Thanks a lot
Rich

More about : amd cpu question

September 9, 2012 11:46:37 PM

How are you reading your temps, via bios or software. You maybe getting a wrong reading on temps, and they may be higher than whats being reported. Most current processor will automatically under clock if the processor gets too hot even if you do have cool&quite disabled, this is to prevent damage to the processor. If the processor is under clocking because it's getting too hot you have two options, first reduce your overclock or second replace your stock cooler with a more efficient one.
a c 146 à CPUs
a b À AMD
September 9, 2012 11:55:49 PM