Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What are the signs of CPU damage?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
September 10, 2012 12:11:22 PM

Hello,
My first attempt at building a comp. When I did a test boot my cpu fans didn't spin. I left it on for about 10-20 seconds (maybe more), turned it off and on a few times trying to figure out what the heck was going wrong.

I finally figured out that it was the fan wire that was obstructing the fans from spinning. Newbie mistake but hey i'm a newbie. Anyway my computer's running fine but after reading that a cpu can damage in 1-2 seconds, I was just wondering if there's a chance that my cpu is damaged, what are the signs of a damaged cpu?

PS I'm running an i5 3470

Thanks.

More about : signs cpu damage

a c 850 à CPUs
September 10, 2012 12:14:36 PM

Instability or does not work at all. It is unlikely with new CPU's getting damaged since there are safeguards in place to throttle down/shut them off. If everything is working fine you have nothing to worry about.
m
l
September 10, 2012 12:23:18 PM

Provided your heatsink was in place with thermal compound I wouldn't worry. In that amount time you're unlikely to have saturated the heatsink anyway. Like rolli59 says, they have thermal trips to stop them damaging themselves too :) 
m
l
Related resources
September 10, 2012 3:43:04 PM

Thanks guys,

What about any form of degradation? Does extreme heat cause a CPU to perform worse?
m
l
a b à CPUs
September 10, 2012 3:48:49 PM

dev851 said:
Thanks guys,

What about any form of degradation? Does extreme heat cause a CPU to perform worse?

Like they were saying. It won't even allow it's self to get to *extreme heat* temps. Before it ever reaches that point your system will shut it's self off.

To answer your question... Extreme heat would kill or degrade a cpus performance yes. But it's very unlikely it would ever reach that point with out turning off the safe guards and purposefully pushing it to those temps.