Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Dell W3507 fans LOUD and CPU HOT

Last response: in CPUs
a b à CPUs
September 11, 2012 5:05:19 AM

Let me start out that I am pretty good with software but I am a hardware noob.

Ever since I got this Dell W3507 around five years ago I knew the fans were loud and seems to rev very high but I never really thought about it figuring it was normal.

The CPU is a Intel Celeron D 352.

Just today I booted into the BIOS menu to change the boot order and happened to notice a selection for hardware monitoring. Just for fun, I selected it and I was quite surprised by the result.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/600/p1010073zm.jpg...

The CPU temperature showed 75*C and rose up to 83*C in the few minutes I was watching it. As far as I know, this is too hot. The fan was also approaching 5000RPM.

I can provide more details if needed.

Are these temps too hot? If so, how do I lower them?

Thanks.
a c 900 à CPUs
September 11, 2012 11:55:32 AM

Sounds like it needs cleaning with compressed air!
m
l
a b à CPUs
September 11, 2012 6:00:53 PM

rolli59 said:
Sounds like it needs cleaning with compressed air!

Ok I will pick some up soon. But it seemed to run alittle hot even when new.

But yes it does need cleaning.
m
l
Related resources
September 12, 2012 1:49:27 AM

Unless someone can correct me, I believe that it is rather difficult to change laptop fan speeds and thus affect temperature because the laptop was built to specific dimensions. What you could look into is an external fan base that sits on the bottom of the laptop and cools it that way but I don't know if you would want to invest in something like that.
m
l
a b à CPUs
September 12, 2012 2:01:32 AM

Engima said: