Sign in with
Your question

Some Simple Advice From A Novice Noob Builder

Last response: in Systems
May 21, 2012 9:01:54 PM

This past weekend I built my first PC, a home gaming rig. If I can do it, anyone can do it. I've been using Macs and OSX for a number of years. In my opinion Apple has been ignoring its pro desktop market, so I investigated building my own rig and decided to take the plunge. Happy I did so, it was a cool project.

I bought the parts locally on a Saturday afternoon, and by Saturday evening my newly-built rig was loading Windows 7. I really mean it when I say if I can do it, you can do it. I've never built a computer before. I haven't used a PC or Windows in years. I built this machine from scratch using parts from a local electronics store, and did it by myself, at home, with just a few simple tools. So I'd like to share a few of my tips and observations for other novice builders. If you have experience building PCs, I'd move along because this post is for serious noobs like me.

1. Plan

Most important part of this process, in my opinion. Identify every single part you need to purchase. That's what I did. Start with processor and motherboard -- it seems to me everything flows from this initial decision. Then after you have some initial ideas, write down the name and part number of every single part for your new computer, including CPU, aftermarket CPU fan/cooling, motherboard, RAM, case, power supply, HDD/SSD, GPU, even cables.

Then, crosscheck. Make sure everything is compatible. Do it twice. Go to your chosen motherboard vendor's website and download any and all motherboard documentation, including approved parts/vendor lists and especially the RAM compatability list. After you have this information, print it out and staple it together. Having this list readily accessible saved me a lot of time and trouble. Then keep revisiting the item list as you move into the purchase and build phase.

2. Don't Overspend