Need some input on a workstation build.

sneasle

Honorable
May 21, 2012
Hi Guys. I used to spend most of my time back on maxpc's forums and would ask there if I needed help putting together a build but the last few times I've posted there I've gotten very little useful feedback, so I figured I would try here.

My lab group on campus (I'm a grad student in EE) is moving into a new lab space and we have been in desperate need of new computers for a long time now. Most of what we have now is P4 based....

Now, here's the bad part. Normally what would happen is these computers would be purchased by the university on contract. However, no one thought to write in the computers into the contract and they have to be written in for us to buy computers. BUT, we can buy computer parts to 'upgrade' what we have, so I've recommended that we upgrade our current p4 machines into i5/i7 machines :).

All said and done we are looking at building 5-9 machines over the next 4 months or so. 1 file server, 3 workstations, and 3-5 test boxes. Descriptions of each machine are below, and I've added in hardware that our IT guy has recommended for ya'lls review where I have it. Hardware lists are at the end of the post. I don't need keyboard/mice/monitors/OSes to be included, we have those taken care of already.

Last but not least, we are required to order through GovConnection. The site is very clunky to use and makes it difficult to find certain things, but their prices are pretty close to Newegg and Amazon. Please note that these prices drop significantly once we log in with our contract credentials. What I've been doing is searching Newegg for parts and when I find something I like, plugging the part number into GovConnection's search feature. It's worked pretty well so far.

File Server: x1
(depending on cost: x2, or some other way to keep a redundant copy of these files in a separate location. )
Description: Supports and mirrors/backs up all important data, code,