Approximate Purchase Date: Early June 2012
Budget Range: $1000-$1100
System Usage: Games, Internet, movies, data processing/homework
Parts Not Required: Keyboard and Mouse, Monitor
Preferred Site: Newegg/Amazon
Overclocking: I could be convinced!
SLI/Crossfire: No
Monitor Res: 1920x1200
Additional Comments: I'd like to do positive pressure to keep cat hair and dust out of the case. I'd also like to have a quietish system. Keep in mind I'm COMPLETELY new to this :)  My ultimate goal here is to have a machine that's more of an investment than a splurge - I don't want to have to trade the majority of this stuff out for 5 or so years.

Because I'm being practical, I figured I'd come to one of the most knowledgeable hardware communities I know, and see if I can't get some opinions on things. :) 

--- THE BUILD AS IT STANDS, PLEASE CRITIQUE ---

- Wishlist link: http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

$200 - CASE: Cooler Master HAF X:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
- I figure this case will be large enough to support all sorts of hardware inclusions as time goes on. Furthermore, it's got like a million fan customization options. Also, it is large enough to satisfy my lack of manly confidence.

$150 - MOBO: ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 lots of words:
- I have no idea. A friend told me it was the best way to go. He's better at this than I am, I'm not going to argue.

$190 - CPU: Intel i5-2400 Sandy Bridge 3.1 GHz processor:
- It's been around long enough so that we know what it's great at and what it sucks at. The Ivy Bridge (I think?) is newer, but less tried, and also damn expensive.

$30 - CPU COOLING SOLUTION: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler:
- I don't know what this does other than cool the CPU. It sounds important, so I'll get it.

$140 - GFX: EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...