First build "ultimate HTPC" (gaming/surfing/movies/dvr)

mopar_kid

Distinguished
May 23, 2012
I'm a complete newb so bare w/ me please. I've been a council gamer all my life and it shows lol. I'm looking at building a htpc for gaming/surfing/streaming/movies/music/DVR. I'm not into bluray/3D. I play mostly FPS/drivers like COD/BF3/MGS4/Dirt/NFS/GTA. Wireless connectivity is a must and wireless startup w/ keyboard or remote would be great as well as both internal BT/RF capabilities. The tv will be a Panasonic TC-L37U3 and a Sony STR-DH820 receiver.

The case I picked out is the Silverstone GD04B cuz it seems to have sufficient cooling and quiet w/ 120mm fans. Will probably require a modular PSU.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811163158

The rest I'm not sure about (MB/PCU/CPU/RAM/PSU) and would greatly appreciate some ideas. Heat/efficiency is a concern as well as future proofing/upgrading, my budget is 1k USD but cheaper would be better.

Thanks

Wolfshadw

Titan
Well, you're not going to get an "ultimate" HTPC for only $1000.

What is your video source for DVR (Cable/Satellite/Free Over-The-Air)?

If cable, who is your provider and does your subscription require a set top box from the cable company?

-Wolf sends

mopar_kid

Distinguished
May 23, 2012

Dvr isnt that important, I'd just like the ability in the future. My caco is CableOne and they have topbox's but I'd prefer an internal tuner card which I believe they offer/allow. Idk what MB requirements Id need to have this feature, I believe just a PCIe slot, which to my understanding is just an "add on slot". As for budget I was hoping for 1000 but could swing 1500 if I really need to.

For starters, is that a good case or is there something better thats similar? What disadvantages does a mATX have (if any) to an ATX size MB?

Wolfshadw

Titan