Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Am I running too hot? i5-2500k

Last response: in CPUs
September 13, 2012 10:15:32 PM

This is currently my temp while running Guild Wars 2 and a MSE full scan. I have a coolermaster hyper 212 plus replacing the stock one.

A little concerned that these temps are high, computer is below desk in the corner end.

Could my cooler be seated improperly?

More about : running hot 2500k

a b à CPUs
September 13, 2012 11:41:11 PM

That's a bit high. Does your case have good airflow, and do you have case fans?
Score
September 13, 2012 11:46:52 PM

That is quite a bit high. Make sure you've got adequate airflow (case fans and wall clearance), clean out dust, and if that doesn't work reseat the cooler.
Score
Related resources
a c 140 à CPUs
September 13, 2012 11:51:11 PM

eosterik said:
Could my cooler be seated improperly?

Do you have a rear exhaust fan drawing air across the CPU area with the 212+ pushing air towards it?

Any HSF would have a hard time keeping the CPU cool if it keeps re-ingesting the same hot air it spewed out seconds earlier.
Score
September 14, 2012 12:07:17 AM

This is after a reseating, going to make sure fans are pointing the same way. This is with GW2 open and a 1080p stream on the other monitor.
Score
a c 140 à CPUs
September 14, 2012 12:20:12 AM

60C is a little hot but is to be expected with the stock cooler.

Do you still hear the fan spiking even with that background load? If so, do those fan spikes correspond to those ~70C spikes?
Score
September 14, 2012 12:56:32 AM

InvalidError said:
60C is a little hot but is to be expected with the stock cooler.

Do you still hear the fan spiking even with that background load? If so, do those fan spikes correspond to those ~70C spikes?