Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Reboot and select proper boot device

Last response: in Systems
May 24, 2012 9:10:33 PM

Okay so I did a quick test yesterday on my new build once before with just the 2 power cables attached to the motherboard. It loaded the splash screen. Now after connecting all the remaining cables and starting up it says "Reboot and select proper boot device or select boot media in selected boot device and press any key" on a black screen.

I thought it was supposed to continue to load the bios until I have installed an OS? This is my first build so I am a little nervous that this could be a major problem. is there a certain way I am supposed to power down from the bios? I haven't changed any settings so I hit the power button the first time to simply shut down.

Here's the computer.

Corsair Graphite Series 600T CC600TM Mid-Tower Gaming Case
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

CORSAIR Professional Series HX750 (CMPSU-750HX) 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80

Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2CCA 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with Transfer Kit

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Profile Desktop Memory Model CML8GX3M2A1600C9

Rosewill RK-800G Black 104 Normal Keys PS/2 Wired Gaming Keyboard

Asus VH238H Black 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight LCD Monitor w/Speakers

LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM

Best solution

May 24, 2012 9:19:16 PM

It sounds like you have the hard drive selected as the first boot device not the CD/DVD drive. If you change that around it will start to boot/install the version of windows/linux/OS X you want to install.
May 24, 2012 9:20:25 PM