genmills

Honorable
Sep 16, 2012
EDIT: It turns out that the issue was my GPU being too hot which caused my whole case to get hotter. Hopefully, this helps others who are having trouble keeping their GTX590 cool because they also use 3D.

Hello! I am new here, but for years I have browsed these forums to learn all sorts of things.

Here is my problem:

I built my computer about 2 years ago. I am an independent guitarist/producer, and I make everything myself on my computer. I use libraries of orchestra samples that are literally 800 GB. Needless to say, when I render my tracks, it's very taxing on the CPU.

Recently, I started having a few problems with my music software--it would freeze up, and sometimes force my computer to shutdown. It turns out that this was a software issue. However, when it forced the restart, I noticed something else, the bootup screen said "CPU over temperature error" or something like that.

Since then, I started monitoring my cpu temps and noticed it was idling at 45 degrees! I can't find anywhere online where people say that is acceptable. Under load, the temps were getting to 75 degrees. I decided to order a Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus and I finally installed it last night. When I booted up, my idling temps were 32-36 depending on the core, so I was very happy. However, after a day now, the idling temps are back up to 40 degrees. I still have to see what the load temps are now.

Is there a reason it's already losing effectiveness? Does the thermal paste need some time to "cure" like I've read some other places. I would just like some help keeping my temps safe.

I'll admit, I'm sort of a wannabe computer nerd (compared to people here), but I'm a master Googler, and I've successfully completed many projects that I should have had no business doing! :)

Possibly relevant info:

my CPU: i7 950
MoBo: Rampage III Gene
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942