How much difference does a sound card make?

Shawcroft

Distinguished
May 5, 2006
Hey,

Having never had a sound card, I have no experience of what difference it makes to games. If i upgraded from onboard sound to an Audigy 4 or SE, how much difference would i see in games? I'm talking about FEAR and Oblivion on a system with a A64 3200+ and x1800xt.

Is it purely sound quality, or would a sound card like the ones above make much of an impact on performance and if so, how much?

maxtoons

Distinguished
May 16, 2006
Alot
I would defentlly Get the Sound card
The ZS is great, but I heard that 4 is not much better.
For me ZS will do, but if you want to go higher, then X-Fi is the way to go.
Pluse, with a sound card you will also be able to record high quality audio. As in converting old casset tapes.

chuckshissle

Splendid
Feb 2, 2006
It also depends on what kind of speakers do you use. If it's just a regular low end pc speakers then the onboard sound would be good enough as the sound cant produce good sound quality to a regular pc speakers. However, if you have a nice set of speakers 2.1 or up to 7.1 set up then you would hear a lot better sounds in both entertainments and gaming. Im currently using X-Fi with Klipsch 2.1 Pro Media speakers and it sounds really nice and I never go back to my Realtek onboard sound device.

Mobius

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2002
It's hard to say how much improvement you will get, because some of the integrated sounds solutions these days are pretty darn good. However, in general, a stand-along sound card reduces the load on the CPU and provides noticeable improvement in sound quality. (If you have some decent speakers to hear the new sound with).

I use the Turtle Beach Santa Cruz card, it's very good 5.1 sound, and incredibly cheap. I despise Creative: revolting drivers, and serious bugs in some games.

There's no need to spend a ton of money - but don't get a Genius sound card, whatever you do!