Notebook gpu

Status
Not open for further replies.

darroaxebender

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2010
im using a 1 year old asus g73sw-a1(i think) which has a i7-2630 cpu and a 1.5gb 192bit gtx460m (8gb ram,1tb hdd, HD+), and looking for a refresh now. i have a couple choices already and need assisting on those, which have different GPU's and same CPU's.

correct me if im wrong, but i have a feeling that it gets harder to sell my g73 as the time goes by. so ive started to think of replacing it with smth with newer chips.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: as long as im able to sell what i own to a reasonable price. at this moment, im thinking of selling my beloved g73 for like $1100 (im gonna put $200-300 on it to buy smth)

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: ill be using it for 2 things, 3d modelling/rendering (im a newbie modeller atm) and gaming (i dont expect it to run every game on max settings, but im expecting a fair game experience, such as at least approx. 50 fps on medium settings for recent games)

-2GB GDDR3 nVIDIA® GeForce® GT 650M 128-Bit
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-650M.71887.0.html

- 1.5GB GDDR5 nVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 560M 192-Bit
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560M.48313.0.html

-1GB GDDR5 nVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 660M 128-Bit DX11
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-660M.71859.0.html

appearently 660 and 650 are the new models. would even them do a better job than my gtx460m (and the older 560m)? but they have 128 bit bus width and as far as i learnt, 3d softwares require a lot buswidth. ofcourse, they have alot more specs that i dont know about. i cant see the comparison charts as they are new, and im too noob to understand what those parameters affect on the pages i pasted above, concerning my needs.

would u advice me to wait for smth im not aware? or be quick to sell my notebook while i still can?

im ok with my gpu's performance on games. would those choices above, be a better option for me?
need suggestions :D