Sign in with
Your question

Building a new PC (HELP!)

Last response: in Systems
May 26, 2012 12:37:27 PM

Hello! First off, I would like to apologize if I have not chosen the correct category for this but since I had questions regarding the CPU, Motherboard AND Memory, I decided to stick to one, instead of posting three different threads. If I need to, I'm most definitely willing to.

Now, I'm trying to build a new PC from scratch. I'm completely new to this as my previous one was assembled by a friend. The only hardware I'm retaining from the previous one is the harddrive (Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 250 GB) and the optical drive (a DVD RW drive).

I would like to point out that I do not live in the States. But I will be quoting the prices here in US dollars. Since none of the stores I know of deliver to Pakistan, I will have to stick to stores and rates here - unless someone can point me to a store that DOES deliver to Pakistan.

I will primarily be using this PC for gaming (e.g. Mass Effect 3, the Witcher 2, Skyrim). I really can't afford to spend too much money on ensuring all my games work smoothly on high settings so I'm fine with medium or medium-high settings - low would be stretching it a bit since why spend money on a PC only to play on low settings? Just an opinion, really.

I need help with some of the other components, though. I will list out my choices for convenience wherever I can.

GPU/Graphics card - I have already bought a graphics card - the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560Ti (1 GB) (EVGA) (US $278). I'm open to suggestions on more efficient cards since I still have time to exchange it.

CPU/processor - Intel Core i5 2500k (3.3 GHz, 6MB cache) (US $223) OR Intel Core i7 2600k (3.4 GHz, 8 MB cache) (US $327) - I'm only confused between these two because I've heard that the i5 will do just fine if my only use for it is gaming - the i7 will not make a significant difference. Is that true? If so, I'm assuming I should just go for the i5.