6 Year Old PC Need Help

Robert21

Honorable
May 27, 2012
Hello Everyone

This is my first time posting on this forum, but i'm hoping you guys can help me out a little bit here as i really need some guidance on what the best path to take is on updating my home pc.

My current custom built PC is about 7 years old now perhaps a little older and its served me well, but as i'm an online gamer i'm looking at updating it so i can really play some of the latest games in full resolution and not experience any slow downs.

My current spec

Intel Quad Core Q6600 (2.4GHz)
2 * 8800GT's Nvidia in sli mode
2 * western digital raptors 10k speed in raid 0 mode
2 * 2GB Crossair DDR2 ram
Asus Striker extreme motherboard
Thermaltake Armor Lcs case
http://techgage.com/article/thermaltake_armor_lcs_ve2000bws/
Liquid cooling

I dont think the whole set up needs updating like the hard drives etc but i'd like to update the following

Motherboard = I'm not exactly sure where to go with this as it was a great gaming motherboard, and it's still sold for quite a bit but its lacking some of the capabilitys of the newer boards like usb 3.0 and ddr3 ram support etc. I was thinking about the sabretooth as an upgrade to keep upto date and future proof my set up for another 5 years or so. One question i really need answered about this is, will the newer boards fit in my tower case or do i have to update that too? What do you think?

Ram= Very old ram and only 4GB in total atm in my system cant use the latest ram due to the motherboard etc. Want to put some 1800 ddr3 ram in abt 16 gb of it for gaming.

2 * 8800 GT's in Sli mode = Lasted a very long time and if im honest could prolly last a year longer but they are struggling with the latest games and i need to update them to something long lasting preferably from nvidia any ideas? I was thinking of getting a 560 etc but uses pc express 2.0 and my motherboard only supports 1.0 etc.