Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade to a Phenom II X4 965 Processor

Last response: in CPUs
September 20, 2012 1:29:45 AM

I just upgraded my cpu to a AMD Phenom II X4 965 Processor - Quad Core, 6MB L3 Cache, 2MB L2 Cache, 3.40GHz, Socket AM3 from a Athlon 64x2 6400+ 3.2 GHz AM2+ and ran the Windows 7 Experience Index and the processor rating dropped from a 7.1 to a 3.5. I also noticed that the Phenom is only running at 1.6GHz and on boot my ram is now unganged. The ram dropped from 6.8 to a 5.3 in the Windows Experience Index. I thought the Phenom would be a better performer than the Athlon. I did turn off the Quiet and cool settings in the bios but everything else is unchanged.
I’m no expert by far but I was wondering if this was indeed an upgrade?
I’m using this as my Home Theater computer for movies, music and I have a second monitor to view a home surveillance camera.
Any feedback, comments or suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
Specs:
Windows 7 (64)
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 Bios:Fhh
Phenom II X4 965
G.Skill 8gb 4 x2gb DDR2 800
Two Asus EN9600GT 512mb PCI Express Video cards
Thank you! :) 
a b à CPUs
September 20, 2012 1:50:44 AM

You're running it with DDR2 and in an AM2 socket. If you get an AM3 socket, you will see better performance. It says on the Gigabyte mobo page. If you put an AM3 CPU in an AM2 board, the HyperTransport speed plummets.
a c 141 à CPUs
September 20, 2012 1:50:44 AM

jasonhts said: