mrsiva26

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
My computer lags a lot. Everything worked fine until i installed windows7 ultimate x64.?
Ive been using my pc for the past two years. Its specs are
core 2 Duo
intel dg33fb motherboard
320 gb hdd
2gb ddr2 ram.
1GB NVIDIA Geforce 9400GT. I used win vista 32bit version and win7 ultimate 32bit in this pc with just 2 gb ram.
But everything worked very fine.

recently i swiched to win7 ultimate 64 bit, where the problem started. it was very laggy when scroling webpages and even while playing videos via vlc or km player.

So i thot of a ram upgrade would help me out and brought another 2gb ram and placed it in another channel.
So now my pc has 4 GB DDR2 RAM. but there wasnt even a little improvement in performance with the new ram. Im sure that they are matched and placed in different channels. both being 667Mhz.

When i googled this many said that the problem was due to old graphics driver. So ive updated my nvidia graphics driver with the most updated version as on sep 13, 2012 and ive also updated my bios.

Someone help me out.
thanks in advance

sebastien

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2010
I had a core 2 duo just couple of weeks ago and yes it has aged though it should be able to handle windows 7 unless you perhaps have the lowest core clock core 2 duo.

This is what I can tell. 2 gigs of ram for windows 7 might be a tad short, especially for ultimate whose come fully loaded with features; therefore at default it may require more memory than other windows 7 version unless you stopped features that does not pertain or interrest you.

1) Check for motherboard manufacturer chipset updates, I do not think it will improve unless perhaps the driver you have at this moment is specific for windows XP to perhaps vista only.