New Build Random Reset Problem

xmmp

Honorable
May 29, 2012
Within the last month I've built a computer. For the first week or so it was fine, but now I'm having some problems. Regardless of what I'm doing at the time, it will randomly power off, as if someone unplugged it from the wall. After about 2 seconds, it will power back up (I'm not pressing any buttons) and boot up into windows. Sometimes it happens maybe once a day, and other times it will happen several times in 15 mins. I pulled out 2 sticks of ram, and I thought maybe that solved the problem, since it didn't happen for a week. But recently it has started happening again. To my knowledge (I'm still learning), I am not overclocking anything as I've left all the settings as they were in bios and haven't played around with the Asus Suite II utilities.

Windows Event log says:

The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.

Source: Kernel-Power
Event ID: 41

Specs: (new parts)

Seasonic X-850w PSU
Asus Sabertooth z77 Mobo
I5 2500k
MSI N560 GTX-Ti
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 [Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL] (currently only have 8GB installed)

The QVL from Asus lists the exact specs my ram has, but with a different model number. But everything else is the same. (voltage, cas, etc..)

Windows 7 64bit, fresh install.

Old parts: WD 1tb hdd & DVD drive.

Any ideas would be most helpful. Thank you.

AdrianPerry

Distinguished
Could be a few things really:

Faulty PSU
Overheating
Motherboard Shorting out on case
Loose cable

Temperatures would be the first thing to check. Download HWMonitor and keep an eye on your temps.

Are there any specific activities your doing when the computer decides to reboot? Any specific game or application that's running?

xmmp

Honorable
May 29, 2012
Thanks for the replies.