Sign in with
Your question

First time build, would appreciate any input on your thoughts.

Last response: in Systems
May 29, 2012 9:34:38 PM

Hello. As stated this is my first time building a PC from components. My budget is up to £1000, and I have been doing a lot of reading around reviews for components. The parts I am considering are as follows:

CPU: Intel core i5: 3570K (£172.9)
CPU cooler: Cooler master 212 hyper evo (£25.12)
GPU: Gigabyte windforce GTX 670 (£345.00)
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V (£137.99)
RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600MHz 2x4gb (£41.10)
Hard drive: Seagate Barrachuda 1TB 32MB Cache 7200rpm (£64.68)
Optical drive: Sony DVD RW (£15.56)
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2 750W (non-modular) (£83.19)
Case: Corsair Carbide 500r (89.36)

Total: £973.91

I would very much appreciate any input you may have on the parts. A couple of notes on why I am considering these parts:

I am opting for no ssd at the moment, perhaps in the future I will invest in one but for the moment I am not too concerned with owning one. Also, I am happy with a 1TB capacity hard drive at the moment (again I may buy another HDD in the future if needed).

I was originally considering the Corsair Vengence 2x4GB kit, but have heard the large heat-sinks can cause compatibility issues with CPU coolers.

Finally, I am opting for the 3570k and aftermarket cooler for the potential to overclock in the future, although I do not plan to make use of this on day one (I still plan to purchase the cooler as I have read that the stock cooler for the 3570k leaves the CPU running a little hot).