CM Storm Scout & ASR Extreme4 Chassis Fans

vasametropolis

Honorable
Sep 23, 2012
Hi there,

I'm a first time builder (and poster, sorry if wrong category) and I'm actually very satisfied with how I've done with my build. However, one small thing has kind of bothered me a bit.

My Corsair HX750 came with a great selection of power cables, including one that I think I need, but haven't been able to get it to work. Basically, how I have my chassis fans working right now is one cable with multiple 4-pin male molex connectors plugged into the corresponding female chassis fan connectors (chained). Then I plug the end of that guy into the power supply and I'm done.

But, there is a MALE molex connector the case has along the exact same strand which I can plug into this guy:

8524d1348073804-new-build-help-img_5335.jpg

So, I assume instead of plugging it in to the power supply unit, I can use this connection instead to plug it into the convenient 4-pin CHA_FAN1 on my mobo. I'd like to this instead so I'll be able to control the fan speed.

Only problem is... the 4-pin connector on the mobo doesn't seem to FIT this connector. Well, hypothetically it does, but there's a thin plastic guard that sticks out right above the pins that block the little raised portion on the molex to 4-pin head you see on that cable up there.

At first I thought that was a way to get you to plug it in upside down (to prevent you from putting it in the wrong way in other words), but when I do that, the computer starts up but the case fans aren't spinning.

It's possible they aren't supposed to spin because the motherboard is controlling them, but I just don't know. Maybe someone can answer that.

Thanks

vasametropolis

Honorable
Sep 23, 2012
LOL.

Well, thanks for clearing that up I guess. So, it looks like I'll need to just get a Molex -> 4-pin connector that I'll replace the current one with that goes into the PSU.