Sign in with
Your question

Attempting upgrade form ati radeon 4200 to nvidia gtx550 ti

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 30, 2012 10:22:17 AM

This is my first attempt at upgrading anything in a PC. It seemed pretty straight forward but now I'm here and completely stuck.

Current PC

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
System Manufacturer: HP-Pavillion

System Mode:l AY614AAR-ABA p6347c

BIOS BIOS: Date 1/22/10 11:41:56 Ver:5.09

Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) IIX4 630 Processor (4CPUs), ~2.8GHz

Memory: 6144MB RAM

Page file: 1742MB used, 1001bMB available

DirectX Version: DirectX 11

I upgraded the Power supply to a Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 600W
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Display

ATI Radeon HD 4200

Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.

Chip Type: ATI display adapter (0x9710)

DAC Type: Internal DAC(400MHz)

Approx. Total Memory: 2937 MB

Current Display Mode: 1600 x 900 (32bit) (60Hz)

Monitor Generic PnP Monitor
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying to upgrade to an Nvidia GTX 550 Ti. I opened the PC, put the card into the empty slot, and plugged everything in accordingly. When I put the provided disc in and selected install drivers I got an error that the card could not be detected.

After reading I see people saying I need to disable/uninstall the ati radeon 4200 via BIOS. I also see some people saying there is not an option in BIOS to disable ati radeon 4200. I think I need to restart the whole process but can't find a definitive answer on what step one should be. If someone could lay out what I need to do and in what order that would be an immense help.