Sign in with
Your question

Should I buy a new video card to replace mine?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 30, 2012 8:47:53 PM

Hey,
I am not too tech savvy , but I see all these great video cards coming out and with me getting taxes back I may buy a new video card. I am wondering if it would be a waste to replace the one I have? I have a XSI 1GB Ati Radeon 5870. I'm an 3d artist for video games so I need some power, but I do game often as well. I am paranoid about heat and noise so something that is quite then this card I have now would be nice.

I'm looking into getting either a 680 or 570, and I set a budget of $500 (can go a bit over)

so
1. Should I bother upgrading my card or is it still good? (I think its a few years old?)
2. Should I wait for the other 600 models to come out?
3. Or get 680/570 or something else?

Thanks guys
a b U Graphics card
March 30, 2012 9:14:38 PM

The question "should I buy a new video card" is simple enough to answer yourself: do you play games at the settings you want with the FPS you want? If the answer is yes (be it that you want higher FPS or higher settings, or both) then get yourself an upgrade. The GTX 680 is the fastest single GPU card out there right now, right beside the ati 7970.

1. like I said above, if you want more speed then do it
2. Tech is constantly moving, once the new 600 cards come out there will be something else to wait for.
3. I'd get the 680 if you can find one, or a 7970 if you can get one for $500
m
l
March 30, 2012 9:18:40 PM

Thanks for the reply. I don't as much fps as i'd want and the 5870 I have gets really noisy and it bothers me, but I suppose I can tolerate it. I just don't know how much of a big difference a 680, 570 or whatever would be to it.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
March 30, 2012 9:34:18 PM