~$1000 gaming system for NOOB

winterwind_23

Honorable
May 30, 2012
Hi everyone,

I need a new computer as my laptop is dying on me. I was deciding between a desktop and laptop, but since I realized that I barely have a need for mobility, I thought it would be more fun to build my own desktop for some gaming and to get some work done at home.

--------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next week or two

Budget Range: $1000 (for everything, including monitor and OS!)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Remote Desktop into work computer, surf internet, store/listen to music

Parts Not Required: I will probably need everything including monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon (I am a Prime member), but anywhere I can get a better deal than Amazon!

Parts Preferences: No preference since I'm a complete noob

Overclocking: I don't know how to do this, but eventually I'll probably want to

SLI or Crossfire: Don't even know what this is...so probably no?

Monitor Resolution: I'll be happy with full HD (1920x1080)

Additional Comments: I want to be able to play graphically intense games (Crysis) at high settings, which by my specification, mean they look noticeably better than on console (otherwise I would probably just play on my ps3!)

--------------------------------------------------