Only 2 cores seem to be doing the work?

chuggs1977

Honorable
Feb 21, 2012
Hi all i play world of warcraft and was thinking that i should be getting better fps and such, usually i get around 60fps more less solid barring been in orgrammar which it then goes down to around 25-30fps all settings are on high,also when i have looked at my taskmanager out of the 6 cores i have 2 seem to be doing a lot of work and the other 4 hardly anything, im new to all this technical side of things really so dont know if this is right or if something is holding my system back ? This is the spec of my machine, and also do i need to update the processer drivers looking at them there sayng the driver is from 2006 but never had to update processer drivers before ?

Asus sabertooth 990fx motherboard
Phenom 1100T black edition x6 @ 3.30ghz/oc 3.80ghz
2 x GTX 560ti (448)
2 x 64gb ssd
1x tb harddrive
1000w cooler master silent
Fractal design R3 case in Artic White
64 bit windows ultimate
16gb Corsair xms ram 1600mhz

Also i never run this game in sli because i never see any difference in fps but im pretty sure it should be running smoother than what it is any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

unoriginal1

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2012
the majority of games only utilize 2 cores. That's why everyone says the i5's are the best procs for gaming.

Games do not use Hyper threading or more then 4 cores. (usually only 2 depending on the game)

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Are you using a DX11 version of World of Warcraft? If not, then doing so might help.

Either way, most games, especially old games such as WoW, are not able to use many cores/threads effectively. One or two well-utilized threads and a few other much lighter threads is very common. This is a huge part of why AMD is often seen as underperforming compared to Intel even though AMD tends to have much higher performance at any given budget through sheer core count.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012