AMD FX-Series FX-8100: good for multitasking 8x?

podiumgirl

Honorable
Sep 25, 2012
Hi there,

I'm seeking advice on the AMD FX-Series FX-8100 processor...

I'm not a gamer. I'm running engineering numerical software. I've been on a cluster to-date, but because of outdated packages (and resistance to upgrade) I need to set up my own desktop system where I'll have more control. Each job (or task) is single threaded, so I'd like to utilize as many cores as possible and thus run as many jobs as possible.

Would this processor actually facilitate 8 simultaneous jobs? I don't plan on doing much else with the computer. Miscellaneous internetting, music, etc will be done elsewhere. I plan to install Ubuntu.

I must keep costs down as much as possible (ie, I'm a grad student and this is out of my pocket!). I've been eyeing an inexpensive (<$500) Acer computer from Newegg that has this processor.

Please note that despite my high performance computing experience, I'm still a newbie with this stuff!

Thanks,
-AFL

kylekillzone

Honorable
Jul 2, 2012
that processor is fully compatable for what you are doing just i recommend building a computer with that processor instead of buying a pre built one. you will learn much more about a computer and how it works and you will be comfortable to tweak it how you like.

Agree 100% plus you can get the parts you really need and can update it as you need in the future.

As for the FX-8100 CPU goes it will work just fine for what you need and much more. I have the FX-8120 and it is very good for everything I have used it for mostly gaming but I have not had any problems with hd video encoding or anything else.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012